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Fair Labor Standards 
 
 
1. GENERAL: Arkansas Code §19-4-1612, states:  “Overtime.  It is hereby 
declared to be the policy of the State of Arkansas that overtime pay for state employees 
is the least desirable method of compensation for overtime work.”  The Code further 
states that “all state departments, agencies, boards, commissions and institutions may 
pay overtime to its employees, under the rules and regulations set out by the Federal 
Fair Labor Standards Act.”  It is also held to be the policy of the state that the provisions 
of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), as amended, be adopted and implemented as 
the basic wage and hour policy of the state.  Further, it is held to be the policy of the 
State of Arkansas that any overtime work necessary to the continued effective 
operations of the state shall be managed in the most efficient and economic manner 
possible. An employer may provide an exempt employee with additional compensation 
without losing the exemption or violating the salary basis requirement, if the 
employment arrangement also includes a guarantee of at least the minimum weekly-
required amount paid on a salary basis. Compensatory time for exempt employees will 
accrue at a 1:1 ratio. Such additional compensation may be paid on any basis and may 
include paid time off. 

 
 
2. SCOPE:  Agency Administrators are responsible for establishing and maintaining 
complete and accurate records regarding compensatory time earned and used, and 
overtime earned and paid by recording time earned on form ADVA Form 83. The 
immediate Supervisor, Veterans Home Administrator, Cemetery Manager or ADVA 
Deputy Director, as appropriate, must approve compensatory time and overtime pay in 
advance on ADVA Form 83 -  Authorization to Earn Compensatory Time.  
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3. REFERENCES: 
 

a. Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938. 
 
b. Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, Public Law 99-150 of 1986, revised 2010. 
 

4. DEFINITIONS: 
 

a. Exempt - those employees not covered by the Act (Positions in subordinate 
categories which are applicable to the state service, i.e., Executive, 
Administrative and Professional). 

 
b. Non-exempt - those employees covered by the Act.  A list of these positions is 

found at Attachment 1. 
 
c. Compensatory Time - Time earned for work performed in excess of 40 hours in 

the workweek. 
 
d. Overtime Pay -  Time earned for work performed in excess of 40 hours in the 

workweek. 
 
d. Accrual Rate - One and one-half times the number of hours worked in excess of 

40 hours. 
 
e. Work Hours - Time spent working.  Time spent on vacation, sick leave and 

holidays are not counted as time worked.  Such time off must be included in 
straight time pay for non-exempt employees, but is not included in computing 
hours of work for overtime. 

 
5. POLICY:  See ADVAP 2-3, Time/Leave/Holidays Procedure on how compensatory 
time/overtime is earned and how to request to use earned compensatory time. 
 
6. SUPERSESSION:  This procedure supersedes ADVAP 2-5, August 27, 2004, in its 
entirety. 
 
7. FORMS PRESCRIBED:  
 
             a.    ADVA Form 83 – Authorization to Earn Compensatory Time              
             b.    ATCH 1 - Non-Exempt Positions 
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