Governor set to lay wreath for National Vietnam War Veterans Day Monday

Friday, March 26, 2021 10:46 am

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – Governor Asa Hutchinson will speak and lay a wreath to honor Vietnam Veterans at a ceremony scheduled for 10 a.m. Monday, March 29, at the Arkansas Vietnam Veterans Memorial on the state Capitol Grounds.

March 29 is National Vietnam Veterans Day.

The event is closed to the public but will be live streamed on the Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs Facebook page: []

The Capitol is located at 500 Woodlane. The media is welcome to attend.

Former Marine Tommy May of Pine Bluff will be the Vietnam Veteran speaking at the event. May, a Pine Bluff native, is also a retired bank president and CEO of publicly traded Simmons First National Corp. His bio link is below.

J. Thomas May

J. Thomas May is Chairman Simmons First Foundation.  He is former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Simmons First National Corporation. He resides in Pine Bluff with his wife, Kathryn.  They have four children, and six grandchildren.

Mr. May graduated from El Dorado High School, and the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville with a BSBA Degree and an MBA Degree.  He is also a graduate of the National Commercial Lending School and the Stonier Graduate School of Banking.  Mr. May served in the U.S. Marine Corps. 

His civic and community involvement includes serving on the following boards: University of Arkansas Board of Advisors; University of Arkansas Walton College of Business Dean’s Executive Advisory Board; Arkansas Executive Forum; Arkansas Blue Cross Blue Shield; The Arkansas Research Alliance; and Go Forward Pine Bluff. Mr. May previously served on the Federal Reserve Board of St. Louis; Baptist Health; Chairman of the Arkansas Bankers Association, and Chairman of the University of Arkansas Board of Trustees.

His honors include the James E. Harris Nonprofit Leadership Award; Sidney M. Brooks Fellow Award; Arkansas Sheriffs’ Youth Ranch Children’s Award; Arkansas Business Hall of Fame, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences  Chancellor’s Award; University of Arkansas Citation of Distinguished Alumni Award; Razorback Foundation Distinguished Service Award; University of Arkansas Sam M. Walton College of Business Lifetime Achievement Award; University of Arkansas Chancellor’s Medal; Honorary Doctorate of Law at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff; and the naming in his honor - The J. Thomas May Fieldhouse at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff; UAPB/AM&N Alumni Hall of Fame.Image title