Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs State Veterans Home Admissions

I. AUTHORITY:

This rule is created pursuant to the authority granted to the Department of Veterans Affairs by the Arkansas Legislature through the adoption of Ark. Code Ann. §20-81-105.

II. PURPOSE:

The Arkansas State Veterans Homes are established and maintained to provide long term skilled nursing care in compliance with state and federal guidelines and regulations. Pursuant to Veterans Administration guidelines, states are responsible for determination of eligibility and admission criteria for state Veterans homes.

III. ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE:

Pursuant to Ark. Code Ann. § 20-81-105(d)(1), The Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs shall promulgate appropriate guidelines to determine eligibility of veterans for admission to a veterans' home and the monetary charges to be made for veterans residing in a veterans home in accordance with federal Veterans Administration guidelines.

IV. ELIGIBILITY FOR ADMISSION:

A Veteran qualifies for admission if he or she meets the following criteria:

- 1. Individual must qualify for veteran status as defined by 38 U.S.C. §4211 (4):
 - a. A person who served on active duty for a period of more than 180 days and was discharged or released from service with other than a dishonorable discharge, or
 - b. Was discharged or released from active duty because of a service-connected disability, or
 - c. Was a member of a reserve component under order to active duty pursuant to section 12301(a), (d), or (g), or 12304 of title 10, served on active duty during a period of war or in a campaign or expedition for which a campaign badge is authorized and was discharged or released from such duty with other than a dishonorable discharge, or
 - d. Was a member of the National Guard or reserve component for a minimum of 20 years and is eligible for retirement.
- 2. Veteran must be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
- 3. Veteran must have a need for long term healthcare services.

Veterans who have a 70% or greater VA disability rating will be given priority in admissions to the Arkansas State Veterans Homes.

V. INELIGIBLE PERSONS:

The following persons are ineligible for residence in the Arkansas State Veterans Homes:

- 1. Veterans who appear on any sex offender registry.
- 2. Veterans with felony convictions.

VI. CONTACT INFORMATION:

Veterans or family members with questions regarding eligibility for residence or financial obligations to the Arkansas State Veterans Homes may contact the Arkansas Department of Veterans Affairs in Little Rock at 501-683-2382.